Risk warning: CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. We publish independent research, not investment advice. Risk disclosure
FP Markets is a forex and CFD broker founded in Australia, where First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd has held an ASIC licence since 2005. EU clients deal with First Prudential Markets Ltd in Cyprus (CySEC), and First Prudential Markets Limited holds a Seychelles securities dealer licence.
Research-based assessment This profile has not completed TTI’s on-site verification and 30-day platform review. How TTI verification works
Verified licences
Regulator
Licence
Legal entity
Register status
Source
Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)
Each licence was matched on the regulator’s own register on the date shown. Unverified claims are listed under Regulation and legal entities.
Assessment summary
FP Markets’ Australian, Cyprus and Seychelles companies are on their regulators’ registers. Its global website refused our automated requests, so this assessment rests mainly on the Cyprus company, whose documents show segregated client money at named banks, negative balance protection, the Investor Compensation Fund, a Cyprus ombudsman route and clear notice of changes. We could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms, and we found no public record of who owns the group. CySEC settled with the Cyprus company for EUR 100,000 in January 2026 over the retail CFD restrictions, and FP Markets is on India’s alert list.
Key positives
Clients can tell which regulated entity serves them 78
The EU site and terms name First Prudential Markets Ltd, its licence and registered office. We could not see the other regional sites.
The Cyprus company places client money in segregated client accounts and lists the institutions that hold it. We could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms.
The three licences we could check are current, with no suspension or restriction shown.
Retail clients have negative balance protection 58
Retail clients of the Cyprus company have negative balance protection on each account. We could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms.
The Cyprus company acknowledges complaints within five days and answers within two months, with a holding response if more time is needed.
Key concerns
CySEC settles with First Prudential Markets Ltd for EUR 100,000 over retail CFD restrictions 13
Reduced the enforcement dimension by 10 points (moderate severity, 0.7 years before the review).
Named on the Reserve Bank of India’s alert list of unauthorised forex platforms 14
Reduced the enforcement dimension by 2 points (low severity, 0.9 years before the review).
Client-facing entities appear on the regulator’s register 12345
Partly met We matched First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd on ASIC’s licensee data, First Prudential Markets Ltd on CySEC’s register and First Prudential Markets Limited on the Seychelles FSA’s list, each linked to the FP Markets name. FP Markets’ global website, which lists its licences, refused our requests, so we could not check any others it claims.
Partly met ASIC authorises the Australian company to deal in and make a market in derivatives and foreign exchange contracts for retail and wholesale clients, and the FSA lists the Seychelles company as a securities dealer. CySEC authorises the Cyprus company to receive, transmit and execute orders in CFDs but not to deal on own account, while its execution policy says that for some accounts the company itself is the execution venue; we could not tell how that is arranged.
Breakdown by dimension
Each dimension is scored from its criteria, then weighted. Dimensions without enough evidence are left out and the remaining weights are rescaled. Open a dimension to see every criterion, our rationale and the sources.
Regulatory status and licence verification 26% of score 84 out of 100
Whether the firm’s licences exist, are current and cover what it offers.
Partly met
Client-facing entities appear on the regulator’s register 12345
We matched First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd on ASIC’s licensee data, First Prudential Markets Ltd on CySEC’s register and First Prudential Markets Limited on the Seychelles FSA’s list, each linked to the FP Markets name. FP Markets’ global website, which lists its licences, refused our requests, so we could not check any others it claims.
ASIC authorises the Australian company to deal in and make a market in derivatives and foreign exchange contracts for retail and wholesale clients, and the FSA lists the Seychelles company as a securities dealer. CySEC authorises the Cyprus company to receive, transmit and execute orders in CFDs but not to deal on own account, while its execution policy says that for some accounts the company itself is the execution venue; we could not tell how that is arranged.
The Cyprus company publishes its name, registration number and address. We could not read what FP Markets publishes about the Australian and Seychelles companies.
The Cyprus company’s disclosures say it belongs to the FP Markets Group but do not name its owners, and we could not access the group’s website or find an official filing that names them.
The Cyprus company says it belongs to the FP Markets Group, which includes the ASIC-licensed Australian company, and names that company as its execution venue, but we found no description of how the group is owned or organised.
The Cyprus company’s disclosures name its board, including Matthew Murphie as a non-executive director, but we could not see the group’s management on its website.
The Cyprus company publishes audited prudential disclosures for the year to June 2025. We found no financial statements for the Australian or Seychelles companies.
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
Client fund protections and disclosed safeguards 13% of score 88 out of 100
What protects client money if something goes wrong.
The Cyprus company places client money in segregated client accounts and lists the institutions that hold it. We could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms.
Met
Retail clients have negative balance protection 58
Retail clients of the Cyprus company have negative balance protection on each account. We could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms.
EU clients are covered by the Investor Compensation Fund. We found no compensation scheme for clients of the Australian and Seychelles companies.
Partly met
Banking and custody arrangements are disclosed 510
The Cyprus company names the banks through which client money is processed: Bank of Cyprus, Eurobank Cyprus and ECOMMBX. We could not see whether the Australian and Seychelles companies name theirs.
The EU terms commit to paying withdrawals within five business days of a valid instruction, but we found no withdrawal fees or methods set out in the EU documents, and could not read the other regions’ funding pages.
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
Enforcement and substantiated adverse findings 13% of score 88 out of 100
Regulator warnings, enforcement actions and final legal findings on record.
Starts at 100 and loses points for each substantiated adverse finding by severity and age. Allegations, complaints and clone
warnings never count. Total deducted: 12 points.
Met
Warning lists and enforcement records have been searched 131415
We searched CySEC, ASIC and CVM records and the Indian and Malaysian alert lists, and ran web searches for other actions. The searches are listed in the source note.
Enforcement action
CySEC settles with First Prudential Markets Ltd for EUR 100,000 over retail CFD restrictions 13
19 Jan 2026. Reduced the enforcement dimension by 10 points (moderate severity, 0.7 years before the review).
Regulator warning
Named on the Reserve Bank of India’s alert list of unauthorised forex platforms 14
19 Nov 2025. Reduced the enforcement dimension by 2 points (low severity, 0.9 years before the review).
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
Complaint handling and documented resolutions 8% of score 86 out of 100
How the firm handles complaints, and what independent records show.
EU clients can go to the Financial Ombudsman of the Republic of Cyprus. We could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms to see which dispute bodies their clients can use.
Not determined
Independent complaint outcomes show no adverse pattern 16
FP Markets has no UK company, so there are no Financial Ombudsman Service decisions, and we did not find published decisions of other dispute bodies.
We found no complaint statistics published by FP Markets or by a regulator or ombudsman for its companies. AFCA publishes complaint figures for the financial firms that are its members, but its data site refused our requests, so we could not check the Australian company.
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
Trading terms and operational transparency 8% of score 89 out of 100
Whether costs, execution and risks are disclosed before you sign up.
The EU costs policy explains spreads, commissions, swaps and rollovers with examples and charges no dormancy fee, but it does not state the currency conversion charge, and spreads by instrument are on pages we could not read for other regions.
The EU execution policy explains the execution factors, names First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd as execution venue and discloses that the company may receive a commission from its liquidity provider.
Met
The client agreement is available before sign-up 58
The Cyprus company’s client agreement can be read without an account. The other companies’ documents were not available to us.
The EU site gives retail leverage of up to 1:30 and the terms a 50% margin close-out, but we could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ leverage and margin terms.
The EU site advertises spreads from 0.0 pips and fast execution from an NY4 server facility without showing the basis on the page.
Met
An address and working contact channels are published 37
The EU site and documents give the Limassol address, telephone numbers and emails that match CySEC’s register. We could not see the other regional sites.
EU documents show issue and review dates, and changes to the client agreement need at least five business days’ notice for individual clients, who may end the agreement before they take effect.
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
On-site office verification 5% of score 0 out of 100
What our visit confirmed in person: a real, staffed office of the assessed entity, not a ghost address.
We have not checked this firm’s office in person, so this dimension scores zero. We check offices through our on-site verification programme.
Not met
Real office at the stated address, not a ghost address
Not met
Office of the assessed entity
Not met
Staffed and operating
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
On-site assessment and platform testing 10% of score Not assessed: no on-site assessment yet
What our on-site checks and 30-day platform testing found.
We have not completed an on-site assessment of this firm, so this dimension does not count and its weight is shared among the others.
Not determined
Company identity
Not determined
Regulatory claims
Not determined
Office visit
Not determined
Account opening
Not determined
Platform usability
Not determined
Costs and disclosures
Not determined
Customer support
Not determined
Deposits and withdrawals
Not determined
Trading functions
Not determined
Complaints process
Criteria and their weighting are explained in the methodology.
Regulation and legal entities
A brand can trade through several companies, each licensed in a different place with different protections. Check which entity your
account would be with.
First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd
Client-facing entity · Incorporated in Australia · Company number ABN 16 112 600 281 · Clients in Australia; also the execution venue and liquidity provider for the Cyprus company
Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) · Reference AFSL 2863541
Dealing in and making a market in derivatives and foreign exchange contracts for retail and wholesale clients
Warnings, enforcement actions, legal findings, allegations and complaint records are labelled separately. What each label means.
Enforcement actionSettled
CySEC settles with First Prudential Markets Ltd for EUR 100,000 over retail CFD restrictions 13
· Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission · Cyprus · Last checked 6 Oct 2026
On 19 January 2026 CySEC’s board agreed a settlement of EUR 100,000 with First Prudential Markets Ltd for a possible violation of article 42 of Regulation (EU) No 600/2014 and paragraph 5 of CySEC Directive DI87-09, which set the restrictions on CFDs offered to retail clients. The investigation covered March 2022 to August 2025. CySEC announced the settlement on 4 February 2026 and said the company had paid.
Regulator warningActive
Named on the Reserve Bank of India’s alert list of unauthorised forex platforms 14
· Reserve Bank of India · India · Last checked 6 Oct 2026
The Reserve Bank of India’s Alert List, updated as on 19 November 2025, includes FP Markets (www.fpmarkets.com) among entities that are neither authorised to deal in forex under the Foreign Exchange Management Act nor authorised to operate a forex trading platform in India. The list warns residents but does not allege fraud.
Company response
Firms can respond to their profile and to any finding. No response has been published for FP Markets. How firms can respond.
Australian Securities and Investments CommissionRegulator recordChecked 4 Oct 2026Australia
Lists AFSL 286354 held by First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd (ABN 16112600281), Sydney, from 31 May 2005. The licence covers advice on and dealing in derivatives, foreign exchange contracts and securities, and making a market in foreign exchange contracts and derivatives, for retail and wholesale clients.
Cyprus Securities and Exchange CommissionRegulator recordChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Licence 371/18 granted on 19 November 2018, company registration 372179, address Georgiou Griva Digeni 109, 3rd floor, 3101 Limassol. Approved domains www.fpmarkets.eu and www.fpmarkets.com/eu. Services: reception and transmission of orders and execution of orders in CFDs, with safekeeping and investment research as ancillary services. Dealing on own account is not listed.
Financial Services Authority SeychellesRegulator recordChecked 4 Oct 2026Seychelles
Lists First Prudential Markets Limited among licensed securities dealers at Office 205, Waterside Property, Eden Island, with the trade name FP Markets, the email compliancesc@fpmarkets.com and the website www.fpmarkets.com/sc, and Matthew Kevin Murphie and Michael Gray Walker as representatives. The register does not show licence numbers.
First Prudential Markets Pty LtdCompany statementChecked 5 Oct 2026
www.fpmarkets.com, including its Australian, Seychelles and other regional pages, refused our automated requests on 5 October 2026 with a Cloudflare block page, so we could not read the Australian and Seychelles companies’ terms, the group’s list of licences or its other pages. The only Australian disclosure statement we found on another FP Markets host dates from 2019, so we did not rely on it.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Explains the execution factors, ranks price and costs first, and names First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd as the execution venue and liquidity provider; it says that depending on the account type the company or a third-party liquidity provider is the execution venue, and that the company may receive a commission from its liquidity provider.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany statementChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Says the domains www.fpmarkets.eu and www.fpmarkets.com/eu are operated by First Prudential Markets Ltd (HE 372179, CySEC 371/18) at 109 Georgiou Griva Digeni, 3rd floor, Limassol, warns that 74.56% of retail CFD accounts lose money, and advertises spreads from 0.0 pips, leverage of 1:30, 24/7 support, more than 800 CFDs and fast execution from an NY4 server facility.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Client money is placed in segregated client accounts with financial institutions in or outside the EEA. Retail clients have negative balance protection per account. Positions are closed out at 50% of the initial margin. Withdrawals are paid within five business days of a valid instruction. Dormant accounts, after 90 days without activity, are suspended and later closed, with no dormancy fee. Changes to the agreement need at least five business days’ notice for individual clients, except changes required by regulation, and the client may end the agreement before they take effect.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentPublished 27 Nov 2025Checked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
A scanned report, read with text recognition, with an auditor’s report from PremioConsult. Says the company belongs to the FP Markets Group, which includes an investment firm regulated by ASIC since 2005, and names its board: executive directors Constantinos Demetriou and Craig Allison, independent non-executive directors Eyal Wagner and Marios Zantis, and non-executive director Matthew Murphie. Sets out own funds and capital requirements.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Client money is processed through accounts with Bank of Cyprus, Eurobank Cyprus and ECOMMBX in Cyprus, and with payment providers Nuvei, Neteller, Skrill and PayPal; merchant accounts with payment providers are not used for safekeeping.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
States that the company is a member of the Investor Compensation Fund for clients of Cyprus investment firms and explains how covered clients can claim.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Explains spreads, commissions, swaps, rollovers and currency conversion with worked examples, refers to the website for spreads and commissions by instrument, and sets the dormant fee at zero. It describes when a currency conversion charge applies but does not state its rate.
Cyprus Securities and Exchange CommissionRegulator recordPublished 4 Feb 2026Checked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Announced on 4 February 2026: the board decided on 19 January 2026 to settle, for EUR 100,000, a possible violation of article 42 of Regulation (EU) No 600/2014 and paragraph 5 of CySEC Directive DI87-09, the restrictions on CFDs for retail clients, in the period March 2022 to August 2025. The company has paid the amount.
Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission; and othersRegulator recordChecked 5 Oct 2026
On 5 October 2026 we searched CySEC’s 1,173 board decisions, ASIC’s licensee data, the CVM’s declaratory acts, KNF’s lists and the Indian, Securities Commission Malaysia and Bank Negara Malaysia alert lists, and ran web searches for actions by ASIC, the FSCA, the CMA in Kenya and others. The findings on this profile are what we found. Securities Commission Malaysia entries for “FP Markets Asia Investm” and “MyFP Markets” are potential clones, not findings about FP Markets.
First Prudential Markets LtdCompany documentChecked 5 Oct 2026Cyprus
Complaints are acknowledged within five days and answered within two months, with a holding response if more time is needed; clients may then go to the Financial Ombudsman of the Republic of Cyprus within four months.
Something wrong or missing?
Tell us about an error or send evidence. We read every report.